Sunday, January 18, 2009

Coral View Resort: Simple Delights

Last year, my company had its Christmas Party in Morong, Bataan, an adjacent town to Subic. Going there meant passing through Subic, towards the Safari and Ocean Adventure to the Morong Gate. From there, several beach resorts line the coast of Morong. We did an impulsive ocular one afternoon, and decided to go with Coral View Resort, which is around 30 minutes from central Subic. I've already talked about Subic Sweetwater and its gorgeous sunset in a previous entry. Coral View Resort is further away, in the town of Poblacion, which is after Anvaya Cove. Poblacion Beach is a long 2-kilometer stretch of light gray sand, and is also known for the Pawikan Conservation Center.


Coral View Resort is like one in a score of resorts along that beach. We chose Coral View for its charm and intimacy. The one beside it, White Sands, was huge, and we just didn't feel at home there. Coral View was smaller, but still big for a resort. They have different types of accommodations, from the standard rooms for two, some by the pool, some facing the beach, to dorm types, that can fit up to 16 people (perfect for barkadas). It has two swimming pools, something I find weird, since both were not small. I'm assuming it gets full during the peak Summer months.



The resort is surprisingly well kept (clean and comfy), despite its hugeness. One can walk around the resort without finding any trash. Even the common restrooms were well-appointed. The restaurant has a sufficient menu, and the prices are not that steep.


There were around 20 cabanas of different sizes on its beachfront, which was also wide and sandy. It had three floating cabanas, where one can lounge at or have a feast in. You can even paddle yourself to the sea with 4 of their small outrigger boats. There was even an obstacle course, a camp fire area, and a pavilion by the beach for functions.


Over-all, Coral View Resort provided us with the right ingredients in having a wonderful vacation after a very busy year at work. We thank the equally wonderful staff who attended to all the needs of our 30-strong team. I see Coral View Resort as a perfect weekend getaway for families and friends, and even companies who plan to have their planning sessions or team building activities on a beach (Call us 6874639 for events like these, haha, sorry for the plug).


It's just a delight to have such a clean and affordable resort near Manila, definitely an alternative to the crowded Batangas area.

14 comments:

  1. Wow! A great place to spend a day of vacation with the family. Thanks for sharing it.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hi! Great place.. Can we have their contact details? Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh my gosh! I've been to this place last weekend and was surprised to see that the photos don't match what's real. Pool was so dirty like it's not being maintained and water from faucet inside the bathrooms smell as if it came from a deep well. I should say shoreline has a spectacular view but when you set out to walk in the water, your feet will get hurt because there are pointed stones hidden underneath tall seaweeds. And there's this lady (Resort Manager they call her) named Thes Esguerra who needs a lesson on customer service so much so that somebody has to teach her immediately otherwise the resort will run out of business all because she doesn't know how to talk to reluctant customers. If you care enough, feel free to ridicule her at 09218234779 or 09173838592 but please just text don’t call because she’s not polite on the phone. If anyone reads this, know that you deserve a haven where amenities and service don’t just jive with the cashout but where you will be treated as kings and queens.

    ReplyDelete
  4. It's a good thing that you have shared your experience. Again, I am sad that this is becoming the situation in Coral View. We really had a good time when we were there. Thank you for sharing this horrific experience. At least we are all updated.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS BEACH RESORT! lots of corals and stones underwater.. and believe it or not, we saw seasnakes and jellyfish swimming just a few meters away from the shoreline!

    ReplyDelete
  6. hi i couldn't agree more. we stayed there just this weekend. first, we arrived there early like around 8am and they recommended this super deluxe room that is priced for 3700. But they said since checkin time is 2pm, they wouldn't even let us turn on the fan until 12pm! they wouldn't even let us in the room, we could only stay in the balcony until check in time. they didn't even consider that we have a baby with us.. they even put us in a different room than the one they've originally shown us, they made us stay in a room that was not rented for quite a whil, located at the end of the building beside a very dirty and clogged washing area full of mud and dried leaves. they admitted that themselves that the room haven’t been occupied for a long time when i complained that the ref even have leftovers, the shower are dirty and the lamp shade have bugs. unfortunately i was only able to complain to their manager, tess something the day after. I was wondering, it that an excuse not to clean the room? plus, there was a power failure from 10pm to 9am the next day. the only thing working is the fan. the electrical sockets wouldn't work also, so much for their generator.. and when we asked for a discount since we spent the night in a non- aircon room, they granted a measly 5% off the price! that is just the 5% they illegally charged on our credit card. after our bad and hot night, they won't even provide extra towels without charging us for it!! the beach was awful,, still waters, seaweeds within 8 meters from the shorline.. awful service.. awful manager, who seems to keep hiding from the guests..I kept telling the staff to call me when their Ma’am Tess is already available for a talk since I have so much to complain.. but no one came over, I have to look for her on my own.. what kind of manager wouldn’t go out her way to talk to a very dissatisfied customer?
    never going back to bataan because of our experience. ugly beach, pricey resorts with poor services.. definitely not recommending the CORAL VIEW RESORT

    ReplyDelete
  7. I was in Coral View as well last weekend! And yes, I was disappointed. There was a power interruption that converted our aircon room into a non-aircon one. I didn't complain anymore though. I will relay all the complaints to Tess. Thank you for all the comments!

    ReplyDelete
  8. how much is the entrance fee??
    on this resort???

    ReplyDelete
  9. We were just here yesterday for an overnight stay. Yes the place is good but the service? Let me recap what happened. We ordered for Sinigang na Baboy. Just before we finished the meal, we found that there's beef in it. We checked the 'special' holy week menu they had presented and checked if there's beef included, NONE. We talked to the cook and to our dismay, he said it was pork, he made it even worst when he said 'I even tasted it' and lots of other excuses 'there might have been a mixed up at the market'. Gosh, can't he not see the different texture of both meats, has he been eating pork ALL his life that everything tasted LIKE PORK (presuming he is a COOK)? So of course,we went to look for the Manager, but you know what, she never dared to go approach us. All the while SHE (chubby lady in her mid 30's, straight hair) had just been eyeballing us (always at a distant) but never had received any apology or explanation. We saw her (and I was sure she saw us too)at the gate before we left and there was never any kind words uttered from her mouth. I am going to send this comment to their email posted at their website and hopefully the owner (certain ATTY PINEDA) can do something about it (i.e., if he still like to keep his business). Thanks guys for reading. May you find a satisfying trip.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Thanks for sharing another bad experience. I hope everybody is aware. I've only had one good experience here as well. Very sad to see resorts go down.

    ReplyDelete
  11. we were here last week and i will never recommend this resort! worst beach ever! beach area is so rocky. all of us got cuts on our feet bcoz of the corals and seaweeds underneath. so we never bother to swim again. we can't even sit on the sand to relax bcoz there are some tiny sea creatures crawling along the shoreline. the pool is not that big and was so dirty. With regards to our room, again arrrrrrgh! the room is not well-lighted. the comfort room is sooooo small that when you sit on the toilet bowl your knees almost touch the wall, flush is not working properly, drainage is clogged. the shower room as well is soooooo small, there is no towel holder, not even a single nail to hang your clothes, not enough water supply, coz sometimes in the middle of your shower the water supply just stops, arrrrrgh!... Overall, we regret everyting we spent in this resort, we never enjoyed any moment of our stay here!.... so pls. don't be fooled by their pics on the net!

    ReplyDelete
  12. Coral View was nice! Only few people are there. Maybe because you didn't like it because it was summer and during summer lots of people comes to a beach resort. The bathroom was clean.

    ReplyDelete
  13. How is coral view in the latter months of the year?

    ReplyDelete

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails